Harper Lee To Publish To Kill a Mockingbird Sequal

Whaaaaaat?

That is the reaction I had when I saw a fellow bibliophile post the news on Facebook.

“I have an announcement,” I said at dinner that night. I was so excited, I felt like I might burst. My children put down their forks and gazed at me with anticipation. “Harper Lee is finally publishing a second novel.”

The looks I got at that point ranged from annoyed to exasperated.

The significance of this news is lost on 5-and-8-year-old boys.

So I texted a friend to see if she’d heard. Lee is her favorite novelist and To Kill a Mockingbird sits in a prominent position in her home library. Below is a pic I took of her library when I was visiting this past October. She and her partner do not have children and, therefore, wake up way later than I do. So every time I visit, I make myself some coffee, snuggle into the chaise in their library and read the intro to Amy Tan’s Saving Fish From Drowning. It’s become a valued tradition. So last time I was there, I photographed the moment. See Lee’s book on display in the bottom right corner?

She, at least, shared in my excitement, as I’m sure you will.

It’s – in my opinion – the biggest literary announcement of the decade.

If you’d like to get in on this little bit of history, you can pre-order your copy from Amazon.com.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I was wondering if I could ask you for a favor?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

