The Iconic Maya Angelou

If you are a regular reader, you know how I feel about Maya Angelou.

I am consistently in awe of her spirit, of her ability to shape words – and overtly simple concepts – into something beautiful and profound.

I have often looked to her wisdom to comfort my soul.

And I’ve often wondered how such a  mind worked on a daily basis.  Obviously, Angelou had pain in her life. But instead of lying back on that pain, she dug her heels into it; she used it to raise her head higher, to pull her shoulders back.

I can’t imagine what the world would be without the passion and grace of Angelou’s words – certainly a dimmer one. I’ve often thought of her words as a gift. And as we mourn her death, I’d like to share some of those words with you.

Because, when such a brilliant human being dies, it is sad. Of course it is.

But it is also a time to celebrate the gifts she gave us, to reflect on the deep and permanent mark she left on this planet.

I mentioned the simplicity of the concepts Angelou often spoke about.  And I don’t mean that as a discredit. What is so amazing about the best writers is their ability to speak to something we all are familiar with, but to shine a light on it that we otherwise would not have seen.

It’s their ability to give depth to something the rest of us see in one dimension that makes them memorable.

Maya Angelou often spoke out against something as simple as complaining, and she spoke of love as a liberating vessel:

One of my favorite lines from the video below is, “take a minute, feel some sorrow, for the folks who thought tomorrow was a place that they could call upon the phone.”

Simple, right? But giving a shade of depth to the single dimension:

If you haven’t seen the Iconoclasts episode she did with Dave Chappell, you must. It’s brilliant. Her humble, honest soul was incredible. Here’s the first part of the episode:

And of course, my very favorite. I’ve linked to it before, but here it is again:

Goodbye, Maya Angelou. And thank you.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

