Amazon Serials – are they for me?

A dear friend asked me recently if I’d ever thought about writing serialized ebooks.  And I have to say, the thought had crossed my mind.  But I had some reservations.  I understood the concept, but I wasn’t entirely familiar with the genre, so I tucked the idea away for another day.

And today, at the home of Lindsay Buroker, Amazon Serials writer Roberto Calas wrote a very compelling blog post which was entertaining, enlightening, and made me want to revisit the idea.

I love Roberto’s rendition of the writing process.  Step #8 made me spit coffee through my nose a little.

It was very relatable, and very much like my own write – doubt – get feedback – revise – doubt – consider quitting – write some more – kind of cycle.

Comforting to know someone else does this too.  Only he does it all in a two-week time frame.

Anyone else tried serials before?  Any recommendations for or against?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I mean, I’ve written serialized fanfiction, but that’s not quite the same. I don’t mind waiting for fanfiction chapters to be posted because I already know the characters and … well, fanfiction is usually kind of predictable. But with a novel, I’m not sure I’d want to wait for it to be posted each day/week. That’s just me, though 🙂

    Reply
    • Kim

       /  January 15, 2013

      I love that you approached this from the reader’s standpoint. I remember waiting for Mockingjay’s release … the ache inside … the NEED to find out what happens. I imagine serials produce the same anxiousness.

      Reply
  2. I haven’t tried it, but I’ve thought about it before.

    Reply
  3. I appreciate the work that you do, and the ambition you’ve taken on your dreams! Therefore, I’ve nominated you for “The Lovely Blog Award” (:

    http://olivethepeople.wordpress.com/2013/01/16/the-lovely-blog-award/

    Reply
  4. Thanks for the mention! I’d be happy to answer any questions you or your readers have about serials.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

