Writing my way out of this funk

As you may or may not have noticed, I recently fell off the grid.  Completely.  For those of you who haven’t missed me, please skip to the ####.  For those of you who have, thanks for noticing.  *Sniff.*

I’ve had some personal crises sweep through my life recently.  I won’t impede you with details, but I’m basically trying to keep afloat emotionally and move forward at the same time.  Not an easy task.  And I’m clearly not over that hurdle completely.  But these blows keep coming in rapid succession and I’ve decided I’m just going to have to push (or write) my way through.  Because if I don’t, I’ll just keep wallowing.

And wallowing never helped anyone publish a book.  Or raise respectful children.  Or accomplish pretty much anything.

So there it is.  I’m sorry for the neglect.  Moving on.

####

I had a bit of a breakthrough yesterday.  My full-time gig is flexible in that I can work from anywhere (my office is in Dallas and I live in Austin, so that gives me about 200 miles of wiggle room).  But my business laptop is a cranky old woman who connects to Wi-Fi at her leisure – or not.  And yesterday, the old broad chose the path of no Wi-Fi.  And I was stuck at Starbucks with no way to login to work.

But!  Instead of beating my head (or my laptop) against a wall, I decided to take this as an ethereal sign that I was supposed to be writing fiction.  So I opened up the Word doc entitled Book Dos and glanced over the notes and scattered scenes I’d jotted down for my second manuscript.

wi-fi garbage

Yeah, sure it is.  (Photo credit: Yuba College Public Space)

I considered my options, checked my Wi-Fi once again (damnit, woman!) and then cleared out a large chunk of space below the Chapter 1 heading.

And then I wrote the beginning of book #2.

It felt real to me, like I was – for the first time – getting a handle on this next project. And I gotta say – it was a warm, welcome feeling.  And it came at just the right time.

I’m excited about the new adventure.  There are certain aspects of the book that will be similar to #1, because it is meant to be the second book in a series.  But the characters will be entirely different.  I hope.  I’m trying to keep myself from falling into that trap of writing one story over and over and just changing the names.  But that requires me to think diversely, and I’m not sure I can make that happen.

But I have to try.

I think what might help is getting manuscript #1 out the door, so I can fully submerse in #2 without distraction.  This weekend, I have a “revision party” scheduled for book #1.  I’m hoping to lock myself in a hotel room (or maybe just my home office), read the manuscript from beginning to end, make notes and revise.  I plan to emerge on Sunday with a primed-and-ready book I can feel confident about.  (I say “plan” because this has been the idea for several weekends now.  But recent events and the resulting emotional crap that came with it has made me push my plans back.  But this time I’m certain – well, I’m vaguely convinced – this will actually take place.  Crossed appendages and spices thrown over various shoulders couldn’t hurt, though.)

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Count me as one of the folks who missed you. Welcome back!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

