Let’s just skip the apology

I had a meeting today with a fellow writer, and we discussed the progression of this blog.

“What have you contributed to the blog recently?” she asked.

“Nothing,” I said.  “I haven’t written anything since … “

I had to think about it, and I came up with “since I won honorable mention in that contest.”

She laughed.  “So, you meet one goal and you’re just done, then?”

On the walk home, when I generally mull over the things we’ve just discussed, I tried to decide why I hadn’t written anything recently.  The excuse I’d given in the meeting was that I am no longer producing short fiction, but rather focusing on “the novel”.  (Why did I just put that in quotes?  I don’t know the answer to that either.)

I rationalized that it seems easier to talk about the fundamentals (what is working and what isn’t) of a short story than it is for a novel.

Is it because the novel is more in-depth?  Is it because there are so many more character arcs to worry about, so many more details to consider?

When I started this blog, my goal was to record the journey to publication.  And I haven’t published anything yet, so I’m not stopping now.

So, here’s where I apologize for not writing recently, yada, yada, yada.  Moving on.

The novel is getting complicated, which is sometimes exciting, and at other times quite daunting.  I organized my thoughts with the index card method, which worked out swimmingly.  Then I sat down to edit with those cards in front of me and was confident I was headed in the right direction.

Flo at Home

Not interested

Then something happened.  One of my characters seemed to blossom.  Before I knew what I was getting into, this very minor character suddenly became central to the story.  Unexpectedly, he was a layer of element that the book had been missing all along.

“That’s it!” I announced to an empty room (and an indifferent cat).  Don’t you just love it when a piece of the puzzle slides beautifully into place?

Except, the pieces I thought were in place before are now suddenly floating outward in a bubble of limbo.  And the question is:  can I pull those pieces out of the air and place them where they are meant to go, mold them around the character’s newly important role in the story?  Or will those elements now go into the “Cutting Room Flo” file that is rapidly filling up my hard drive?

Hard to say.  But I can’t wait to find out!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

