The best kind of email

After waiting for months, I received a much-anticipated email today from Writer’s Digest:

Greetings!

It is our pleasure to inform you that your entry titled On The Lane, has been awarded Honorable Mention in the Writer’s Digest Thriller/Suspense Competition!

Winners will be listed in the May/June 2012 issue of Writer’s Digest, and on www.writersdigest.com after the May/June 2012 issue is published, and a copy of the 2012 Novel & Short Story Writer’s Market has been ordered for you.

Competition was fierce, congratulations on a job well done!

Sincerely,

Writer’s Digest Competition Staff

The 2008-09 Melbourne NYE fireworks, as seen f...

Yaaaaaay!

I could not be more excited if I had won the grand prize.

This is the story I wrote to challenge myself and to step outside my self-imposed box.  I then submitted the story to a contest and received some criticism that I analyzed and implemented into the text before submitting to the WD competition.

After submission, I read over some of the previous winners’ stories and was disheartened.  Those entries didn’t seem to match up with the structure of my own.  I suffered with ever-present doubts – right up until today.

And now I can breathe again.

Happy New Year, everyone!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Marc Schuster

     /  January 1, 2012

    Congratulations! What a way to ring in the new year!

    Reply
  2. A belated comment, I know (your post just came up as a “related article” when I was editing one of my posts), but…

    Congratulations!

    I am curious about the disheartened feeling, though.
    The contest wasn’t anything like the one I entered, was it…in which the publisher accepts and published ALL entries? And then tries to convince the “winners” to buy a $70.00 copy of the book, not to mention all these others “awards” we could buy?

    Reply
    • Mamas

       /  February 20, 2012

      Hey, thanks!

      I fell prey a poetry contest comparable the one you reference, and never did buy the “anthology” in which it was “published.”

      Unfortunately, those scams are everywhere. Have you read this article: http://www.writing-world.com/rights/contests.shtml ? It helped me wade through the murky waters of publishing cons.

      Writer’s Digest appears to be reputable. Only First and Second place get their stories published in the May/June issue of the magazine. Honorable Mention winners receive promotion (my name and the name of my story will be listed), but the story itself does not get published. And the book I will collect as part of my prize is the 2012 Novel and Short Story Writer’s Market. It’s a great resource for writers looking to get published (and retails for about $30, more than what I spent on the entry fee).

      So I’m pretty happy with it. I see you dabble in SciFi on occasion. They have a SciFi Contest too, though this year’s is closed. You might think about it for next year, though… http://www.writersdigest.com/competitions/wd-science-fictionfantasy-competition .

      Good luck and thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
      • Yeah, I’ve seen articles like that…long after the fact.
        The way I see it, I was in high school, new to the idea of publishing, barely write any poetry, and it was maybe something to put on display if I had guests over.
        But it ISN’T something to mention on a Writer’s Resume. (I figured that out even then, but it was because of the “barely write any poetry” part.)
        Lesson learned.

        I’ve looked at the Writer’s Digest contests, and I’ve been interested in entering, but I haven’t looked that much in depth at the ones that have entry fees (although $20 isn’t bad, even on my non-income).
        I’ve been looking at their “your story” prompts more than anything.

        “On occasion” is a generous exaggeration; I write mostly fantasy.
        I like dealing with magic more than machines, though I AM working with a “magical technology” in some of my stories.
        I’ll have to keep an eye out for more of the WD and other legit contests.
        Maybe if my Writers of the Future entry falls through, I can try it later with Writers Digest…though revision for word count is a must (the original draft was over 5,000, and that’s the SHORT version).
        Or maybe my Machine of Death entry (MY challenge to write something different)? I’ll have to check the rules on that one.

Leave a Reply

